Gold Gloves Announced

The Gold Glove awards were announced yesterday. Nolan Arenado took home his 10th straight for the NL at 3B. Only Brooks Robinson has a longer streak for a 3B. (Ozzie Smith had 13 straight at SS, Keith Hernandez 11 at 1B.) Ichiro Suzuki also had 10 straight—and like Arenado, did it his 1st 10 years in the majors.

14 of the 20 winners got their first award (a record) including 3 rookies (also a record). In the AL only DJ LeMahieu had won one before (his 2nd, as a utility player).

Here’s the full list of winners:

American League
P: Shane Bieber, Cleveland (1)
C: Jose Trevino, New York (1)
1B: Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Toronto (1)
2B: Andres Gimenez, Cleveland (1)
3B: Ramon Urias, Baltimore (1)
SS: Jeremy Pena, Houston (1, R)
LF: Steven Kwan, Cleveland (1, R)
CF: Myles Straw, Cleveland (1)
RF: Kyle Tucker, Houston (1)

National League
P: Max Fried, Atlanta (3)
C: J.T. Realmuto, Philadelphia (2)
1B: Christian Walker, Arizona (1)
2B: Brendan Rodgers, Colorado (1)
3B: Nolan Arenado, St. Louis (10)
SS: Dansby Swanson, Atlanta (1)
LF: Ian Happ, Chicago (1)
CF: Trent Grisham, San Diego (2)
RF: Mookie Betts, Los Angeles (6)

Utility players:

AL: DJ LeMahieu, New York (2)

NL; Brendan Donovan, St Louis (1, R)

Join in on the conversation!

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s