David Ortiz a Hall of Famer

David Ortiz received 77.9% of the BBWAA vote and was thus announced as the newest member of the Hall of Fame today in this, his first year on the ballot. He had 1192 extra base hits in his career–including 541 homers, and 632 doubles. He knocked in 1768 runs. He slashed .285/.380/.552, with a 141 OPS+. He’s #12 all time in doubles, #17 in homers, and #23 in RBI. In the postseason he slashed .289/.404/.543 with 17 more home runs. He was an All Star 10 times, was awarded 7 Silver Sluggers, was the 2004 ALCS MVP, the 2013 World Series MVP, won the Hank Aaron Award in 2005 and 2016, and the 2011 Roberto Clemente Award.

Meanwhile, the four players in their 10th and final year on the ballot (Barry Bonds with 66% of the vote, Roger Clemens with 65.2%, Curt Schilling with 58.6%, and Sammy Sosa with 18.5%) all fell short of the 75% required for induction. Their future chances of gaining HoF entry now depend on the Today’s Game Committee.

Of the first-year players on the ballot, besides Ortiz, Alex Rodriguez had the highest percentage at 34.3%. It should be noted that number is relatively close to what Bonds and Clemens each received their first year on the ballot, and look where it got them–ie, don’t look for him in Cooperstown anytime soon. Jimmy Rollins was on 9.4% of the ballots; no other first-year will be on next year’s ballot. Joe Nathan, Tim Hudson, Tim Lincecum, Ryan Howard, Mark Texeira, Justin Morneau, Jonathan Papelbon, Prince Fielder, AJ Pierzynski, Carl Crawford, and Jake Peavy will all fall off the ballot due to garnering less than 5% of the vote. (Crawford and Peavy got no votes.)

Join in on the conversation!

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s