Cy Young

This year’s awards went to Robbie Ray of the Toronto Blue Jays (AL) and Corbin Burnes (NL).

Perhaps it’s just me, but this was not an exciting contest this year, at least after Jacob deGrom and Shane Bieber each sustained significant injuries. Indeed, deGrom looked like he would challenge Bob Gibson’s single season ERA record until he got hurt.

The one issue with Burnes was his 167 IP, as winners generally pitch more. However, his 176 ERA+ led MLB. He edged the Phillies’ Zach Wheeler, who led the NL in WAR with 7.7. Max Scherzer of the NationalsDodgers garnered the third most votes and no doubt lost some votes pitching hurt in his last two starts but still had a 2.46 ERA.

Ray heads into free agency with some nice hardware after putting up a 2.84 ERA and 6.7 WAR. Gerrit Cole of the Yankees and Lance Lynn of the White Sox.

Join in on the conversation!

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s